Ralph Thoresby School Ambition and Achievement for All Back to home
Menu

Coronavirus: Online Learning

Y11 Online Learning

Y11 can access folders by clicking here

IMPORTANT: ONEDRIVE

Please allow OneDrive time to load before reporting an issue. On slower connections, it can take some time before the page correctly loads to our school site.

Years 7, 8 and 9 Online Learning

Students in Y7-9 will be provided work by teachers – click on the link below. It would be useful to watch the short animation (below) to familiarise yourself with what is expected. It’s important to stress that the most important thing is that you are safe and well. Try to complete work from all of your subjects, not just your favourite subjects!

Y7-9 online learning info animation

The main points to note are as follows:

  • Teachers will provide a summary plan of what you need to complete for each half term. You will see how many lessons are required to be complete for each subject over the half term.
  • You will complete one single document for each subject over the course of the half term – you add to this every time you complete a lesson.
  • The summary plan will show you when you need to send your subject document to your subject teacher for assessment/feedback
  • Work should be accessible by mobile devices as well as computers. If you don’t have computer access, you can work on paper, then take a photograph of the work and email it to your teachers.
  • If you do not have internet access – let us know! We may be able to get you hard-copy resources for core subjects. Email letmeknow@ralphthoresby.com or send a message via the school MyED app.

Year 7 to 9. Click here to get work.

Staff will be on hand between the hours of 08:30 and 15:00 to answer any queries. Please use the app messaging system (MyED) or contact via email directly using the staff email details at the bottom of this page.

Years 10 and 12 Online Learning

Years 10 and 12 will have greater input from their teachers, as these cohorts are the next in line for exams. It would be useful to watch the short animation (below) to familiarise yourself with what is expected. It’s important to stress that the most important thing is that you are safe and well. Try to complete work from all of your timetabled subjects.

Online Learning Y10 and 12 info animation

The main points to note are:

  • Teachers will provide a summary plan of what you need to complete for each half term. You will see how many lessons are required to be complete for each subject over the half term.
  • The summary plan will show you when you need to send work to your teachers for assessment/feedback
  • You should aim to follow your timetable as best you can, completing the work from the lessons you have on each timetabled day
  • Teachers will provide many resources via OneDrive and will feature more teacher input and instruction. There may be live lessons (via Microsoft Teams) and video input for some subjects.
  • Work should be accessible by mobile devices as well as computers. If you don’t have computer access, you can work on paper, then take a photograph of the work and email it to your teachers.
  • If you do not have internet access – let us know! We may be able to get you hardcopy resources for core subjects. Email letmeknow@ralphthoresby.com

Year 10. Click here to get work.

Year 12. Click here to get work.

Sixth Form Transition: Reading Lists

Our departments have put together some essential reading for those students who will be joining us in sixth form from September. Click the links below for more information.

Year 11 contemplating Science and/or Maths A levels for September, CGP Head Start for A level Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology guides are currently free for kindle download on Amazon.

Art

Chemistry

Computer Science

Digital Media

Drama

English

English Language

English Literature

Geography: Coastal Systems and Landscapes

Geography: Contemporary Urban Environments

Geography: W & C Cycles

Health & Social

History

Law

Maths: Introduction

Maths: Diagnostics

Maths: Tests

PE: Unit 7

PE: Unit 4

Philosophy and Ethics

Product Design

Psychology

Sociology

FAQ: Opening/Completing Tasks

Using your school email

Sign into your school email by going to mail.office365.com

Enter your username (school network username @ralphthoresby.com). E.g 18jbloggs@ralphthoresby.com and your email password (this is NOT the same as your school network password, unless you’ve specifically set it to that).

If you do not know your school email username/password, email Mr Gill (agill@ralphthoresby.com) using your personal or parent/carers email who will send you your login details for school email.

Once signed into your school email, press the grid of 9 dots located in the top-left hand corner of the browser. Once pressed, you have access to a variety of office software, as well as OneDrive.

PC/Laptop/Mac

If you have not got office software installed to open Word documents, PowerPoints or Excel spreadsheets, you can download Open Office to open/edit files.

Download Open Office from:

https://www.openoffice.org/download/index.html

iOS/Android

Both operating systems have native apps that allow you to open/edit documents. Click the file from OneDrive then follow the on-screen prompts to open in the desired app.

Google Docs/Office 365

Both cloud-based systems allow users to open/edit office files.

For Google Docs:

Sign into your Google Docs account and select “new”. Browse your device for the downloaded office file and upload it. Google Docs will then convert it for use in Google for viewing/editing.

For Office365:

Sign in to Office 365, go to your OneDrive library or team site, and then click (or tap) the name of a Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote, or PDF document. The document opens in your browser, in Office for the web.

Staff Contact List

Initial Surname Email Subject
A Goodrum AGoodrum@ralphthoresby.com Art
F Jordan fluerjordan@ralphthoresby.com Art
S Knight SKnight@ralphthoresby.com Art
C Bradley cbradley@ralphthoresby.com Business Studies
M Hancock hancocmj01@ralphthoresby.com Business Studies
P Jones pjones@ralphthoresby.com Business Studies
A Gill agill@ralphthoresby.com Computing/iMedia
E Teall evangeline.teall@ralphthoresby.com Computing/iMedia
J Padbury JPadbury@ralphthoresby.com Computing/iMedia
S Williams sharlene.williams@ralphthoresby.com Drama
S Ross samantha.ross@ralphthoresby.com Drama/English
P Boden-Hook bodenp01@ralphthoresby.com English
S Fletcher SFletcher@ralphthoresby.com English
L Henderson henderl04@ralphthoresby.com English
A Krivan Aaron.Krivan@ralphthoresby.com English
P Padmore paul.padmore@ralphthoresby.com English
M Price megan.price@ralphthoresby.com English
K Wolstenholme WolsteK04@ralphthoresby.com English
J Zambrano Javier.Zambrano@ralphthoresby.com English
H Oxtoby helen.oxtoby@ralphthoresby.com Food Tech
C Hutson cHutson@ralphthoresby.com Geography
D Illingworth Daniel.Illingworth@ralphthoresby.com Geography
J Missin jmissin@ralphthoresby.com Geography
J Thomas jthomas@ralphthoresby.com Health & Social
H Fletcher holly.fletcher@ralphthoresby.com Health & Social
L Head laura.head@ralphthoresby.com Health & Social
R Liptrott RLiptrott@ralphthoresby.com History
R Ward RWard@ralphthoresby.com History
S Amir Shaizad.Amir@ralphthoresby.com Maths
C Byrne chris.byrne@ralphthoresby.com Maths
A Caswell acaswell@ralphthoresby.com Maths
S Singh sanjay.singh@ralphthoresby.com Maths
S Glover sglover@ralphthoresby.com Maths
M Harter Madeleine.Harter@ralphthoresby.com Maths
B Keyes bethany.keyes@ralphthoresby.com Maths
J Powney JPowney@ralphthoresby.com Maths
E Boyes emma.boyes@ralphthoresby.com Maths
C Whiteley cwhiteley@ralphthoresby.com Maths
C Bourne cbourne@ralphthoresby.com Modern Foreign Languages
J Oldridge oldridj03@ralphthoresby.com Modern Foreign Languages
A Taylor andrew.taylor@ralphthoresby.com Modern Foreign Languages
L Robinson luke.robinson@ralphthoresby.com Music
S Hackshaw shackshaw@ralphthoresby.com Music
J Hammond jennie.hammond@ralphthoresby.com Music
V Hope HopeV01@ralphthoresby.com PE/Sport
S Hunt sOlbison@ralphthoresby.com PE/Sport
S Mcleer SMcleer@ralphthoresby.com PE/Sport
H Singh hsingh@ralphthoresby.com PE/Sport
A Richardson arichardson@ralphthoresby.com PE/Sport & Health and Social
R Jones jonesre06@ralphthoresby.com Photography
C Bell cbell@ralphthoresby.com RE/Citizenship
E Little Emily.Little@ralphthoresby.com RE/Citizenship
F Mahmood FMahmood@ralphthoresby.com RE/Citizenship
J Cheetham jcheetham@ralphthoresby.com Science
G Cowgill gcowgill@ralphthoresby.com Science
C Garbutt Catherine.Garbutt@ralphthoresby.com Science
I Boyle iona.boyle@ralphthoresby.com Science
R Gillot rgillot@ralphthoresby.com Science
D Mulvaney MulvanD01@ralphthoresby.com Science
L Proll lproll@ralphthoresby.com Science
R Wilkins Richard.Wilkins@ralphthoresby.com Science
R Meegan rmeegan@ralphthoresby.com Technology
A Smith ASmith@ralphthoresby.com Technology

Parent Portal

Parent Portal

cross